1995 MLB All-Star Game: Jeff Conine Wins MVP

The 1995 All-Star Game took place in Arlington, Texas. In this All-Star Game, American League pitchers held National League batters to just three base hits, but all three were home runs. 

Montreal Expos manager Felipe Alou managed the National League. New York Yankees manager Buck Showalter worked for the American League. Alou and Showalter were chosen because the previous year, Expos and Yankees had the best record in their opposing leagues before the strike. 

Notable names like Manny Ramirez, Sammy Sosa, Hideo Nomo, David Wells, Tino Martinez, Mo Vaughn, and Jim Edmonds made their first All-Star appearance. The American League took a 2-0 in the bottom of the 4th inning. Frank Thomas, The Big Hurt, went deep with one man on base. He crushed the ball to left field. The National League would not stay silent. They scored each of their three runs on a solo home run in the 6th, 7th, and 8th inning by Craig Biggio, Mike Piazza, and Jeff Connie. National League won the event again by the final score, 3-2. 

Florida Marlins’ Jeff Conine won the All-Star Game MVP Award. After the midsummer classic, All-Star Mo Vaughn would go on to win the American League MVP as a member of the Boston Red Sox. Barry Larkin won the National League MVP as a member of the Cincinnati Reds. Both players took their respective teams to the postseason. 

Leave a Reply