Harden to LA, Texas Rangers Win First World Title

By Miguel Mike Medina

The 76ers agreed to trade the complainer James Harden’s time to the LA Clippers. Harden is no stranger to forcing his way out and quitting on teams. Harden is talented but he’s not a championship-caliber player. He will now join Kawhi Leonard, Paul George, and Russell Westbrook in the Clippers team. Here’s the trade breakdown: 

Sixers receive: 

• Nicolas Batum

• Marcus Morris

• Robert Covington

• KJ Martin

• Multiple draft picks

Clippers receive:

• James Harden

• P.J. Tucker

• Filip Petrusev

Where do Philadelphia go from here? 

It’s not the end of the world for Philadelphia. This team needs to be healthy and will need Joel Embiid and Tyrese Maxey to combine 60-70 points on a nightly basis to be a very competitive team. But their role players would have to step up as well. 

As for the Clippers, I’m not going to say that they are title contenders all of a sudden. Durability and team chemistry play a factor. Can this team coexist with James Harden on the court knowing his track record? Can Leonard and George stay healthy especially when April comes around? The Clippers franchise is still hunting to capture their first world championship. This is arguably the best group of players they’ve had in their franchise history. The team will be moving to a new arena in Inglewood for the 2024-2025 season.

For the first time in franchise history, the Texas Rangers are World Series champions. Texas finished with an incredible 11-0 on the road this postseason.

Arizona left nine men on base through five innings and went 0 for 9 with runners in scoring position.

The Bruce Bochy effect is real. The skipper came out of retirement and won his fourth World Series championship. He’s the 6th manager to have four or more World Series titles. Bochy’s teams have won four of the last 14 World Series.

Corey Seager won the World Series MVP. He’s the second player in MLB history to win two World Series MVPs with two different teams. Reggie Jackson did it with the Oakland A’s and New York Yankees. 

Will Smith is one lucky man. Smith becomes the first and only MLB player in history to win three consecutive World Series titles with three different teams: 2021 Atlanta Braves, 2022 Houston Astros, and now the 2023 Texas Rangers.

Rangers franchise started as the Washington Senators before moving to Texas in 1972.

Leave a Reply